Bye, Lena.

This is a follow up to an article my friend wrote about Lena Dunham’s recent comments about Odell Beckham Jr. She covered most of my thoughts, but I wanted to add a few. I am so turned off by Lena, Amy Schumer and women alike and their white feminism (If you don’t know the definition of white feminism, please hold up and do your research before getting offended) that I haven’t been able to read too deeply into it without quickly being filled with irritation and disgust.

Her depiction of Beckham was violent and harmful and only further fuels stereotypes of black men in this country. The story she conjured up in her mind, as though she is some mind-reader, about how Beckham saw her is based on her own insecurities and ignorant perceptions of black men. She automatically sexualizes him by assuming he would not give anyone attention who does not meet his “standards”. Standards she made up… about a man she doesn’t even know.

If you’re not familiar with her words:

I was sitting next to Odell Beckham Jr., and it was so amazing because it was like he looked at me and he determined I was not the shape of a woman by his standards. He was like, “That’s a marshmallow. That’s a child. That’s a dog.” It wasn’t mean — he just seemed confused.

The vibe was very much like, “Do I want to fuck it? Is it wearing a … yep, it’s wearing a tuxedo. I’m going to go back to my cell phone.” It was like we were forced to be together, and he literally was scrolling Instagram rather than have to look at a woman in a bow tie. I was like, “This should be called the Metropolitan Museum of Getting Rejected by Athletes.”

Image result for girl bye

Really, really?

Beckham has since said that he doesn’t know her and that he doesn’t want problems with anyone in this world.

But there are problems. Lena Dunham is a problem. Amy Schumer is a problem. White feminism is a huge problem. There are two different types feminists. Feminists and white feminists. White feminism is not feminism. It is misleading and it’s not real. It was created to railroad all women… much like slavery… today we are being enslaved in any and every way possible.

I know white feminists and I know who feminists who are white.

The truest words I’ve heard spoken from a feminist who is white that knows the difference: “I thought they invented the feminist movement. I know we all have different experiences, but I learned feminism disproportionately from black women.” – Gloria Steinem

This is a clear picture of what white, mainstream feminism looks like in America today:

white-feminism

There is no room in true feminism for women like Dunham, Schumer or white feminists, period. If women really matters to you, it should be inclusive. If it does you’d be working towards bridging the gap. But please, don’t abuse a title so important, rooted in suffrage and strength by misrepresenting it. It’s all or nothing.

Leave a Reply

