PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS/MENTAL ILLNESS IN THE BLACK COMMUNITY: MENTAL HEALTH AWARENESS WEEK, DAY 5

It’s the end of my own week and I must say I am more than ready to bring it to a close. I just wanted to share what I can at the moment about something very relevant on this 5th day of #MentalHealthAwarenessWeek. Be encouraged.

Rapper Kid Kudi checked himself into rehab for depression and suicidal awareness. This has re-opened a taboo topic much needed to be widely discussed within the black community. Other than his song “Pursuit of Happiness”, I don’t know much of Kid Kudi’s music, but as I am listening now it becomes clear that depression not only existed in the trauma of his past and childhood, but it has been been present in his life ever since. In his song “Soundtrack to my Life” he rap/sings “I’ve got some issues that nobody can see and all of these emotions are pouring out of me, I bring them to the light for you, it’s only right.” He even goes in to talking about suicide, self-harm and substance abuse.

kidkudi.png

I really like that he is seeking help. I want to share this article by Faith Peters that sheds light on Kid Cudi and  mental illness crisis in the black community. Can be found here

 

Black men on twitter now opening up and tweeting their support. ❤

 

Since the hashtag started, black men, and some women, took to Twitter to share their thoughts and feelings on the topic.

Leave a Reply

