Fuck The System/We Are NOT Free: In Memory of Venida & Kalief Browder

kaliefbrodd

I was just thinking of Kalief yesterday while I was watching 13th. I am so sorry to hear about the passing of his mother. Every time I think of Kalief’s story I break all over again. I am shaken to my core and I get so upset. This only adds tragedy on to something I couldn’t fathom could be more tragic. Nobody could ever know just how this woman suffered through what happened to her son and ultimately the cause of what lead him to take his life. Even when he was released he never could break out of the confines of the trauma he suffered during his faulty incarceration in RIKERS at 16 for a crime he DID not commit. And here his mother had to carry on the nightmare of all of it. My hope is that they are free in God with each other.

“She was a woman of incredible grace and compassion who tirelessly fought for justice for her son Kalief and who championed the civil rights of others in our city,’ Prestia said Sunday.

‘But the stress from this crusade coupled with the strain of the pending lawsuits against the city and the pain from the death were too much to for her to bear. In my opinion she literally died of a broken heart.’

Kalief was just 16 in May 2010 when he was jailed after a teen accused him of robbing him of his backpack.

His family couldn’t make the $3,000 bail, so he spent three years in Rikers, enduring beatings by guards and 400 days total in solitary confinement before the charges against him were ultimately dropped.”

If you are not familiar with Kalief I encourage you to research him and the tragedy of mass incarceration in America. Here is a must read on Kalief’s story.

 

Leave a Reply

