Why I Love you: An Ode To Women

In a society that is fueled by hate,

Compassion is the only thing you perpetuate.

This is why I love you.

I will always be profoundly shocked by the underestimation of your strength

When my spirit rises from the height of your presence

where you show up in the world to take your place where you’re needed

each day.

This is why I love you.

My heart could crack apart

From just a glimpse of an unbearable image of you in the dark.

Given the chance,

you’ll love with an openness that would save the world if it were to emulate,

You’re how we survive and why we live,

And that’s doesn’t scratch the surface of your purpose.

And even if that wasn’t what it is,

You’d still be the ones with the very most to give…

And this is why I love you.

You endure everything you weren’t meant to,

Every action is you risk take,

Yet you continue to embrace

and create.

This is why I love you.

If it weren’t for women I’d be scattered pieces,

Never having had the chance to breathe –

I’d be hollow and frozen,

 Never having had found warmth to open and let in.

This is why I love you.

You’re powerful and delicate

And  a reflection of some type of heaven

This is why I love you.

It must have been a special kind of pain when you saw her right there

And the ceiling didn’t shatter

But you always win when you make your way where’s not paved,

or come back crashing in ever stronger and even faster.

Sometimes we forget to tell you how you matter

And perhaps you do cry tears somewhere where we don’t see

Because you don’t hear enough what we all know is true

That if we see the world for what it was intended and all it could be,

It is really you.

You see this is why I love you.

In a world that’s constantly needing you,

Even when maybe you feel small,

To me you’ve always been astonishingly tall

and most incredible of all.

That is why I love you.

2 thoughts on “Why I Love you: An Ode To Women

Leave a Reply

